Thursday Thoughts - Love Languages

Pizza Ranch Serves

Thursday Thoughts - Love Languages

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.
— 1 Corinthians 10:31

Thursday Thoughts
Ll4 13 2023

This week we have talked about how we receive God’s love and the fact we are commanded to love. But what does it look like to love those around you?

Love can come in many different shapes and forms. However author and Christian Counselor Gary Chapman wrote a book in 1992 titled “The 5 Love Languages” that outlines 5 ways people give or receive love. They are called love “languages” because of the idea that every person has one that comes most naturally to them (their native/primary love language) and the others they may still experience, but not understand or appreciate fully (a secondary or unknown language).

The 5 Love Languages Are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving/Giving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

Each of these love languages have different ways of expressing and communicating love & appreciation. If you have never taken the test before you can take it for free here to learn more about love languages and what love language you may have.

If you already know what your love language is (or took the test and found out) consider using your love language to bless those around you. For example, if you are words of affirmation, consider writing an encouraging note to an over-worked co-worker. If you are quality time, text a friend and schedule a time to connect over coffee. If you are giving/receiving gifts, consider picking up a small treat for a family member on your way home from work. If you are acts of service, consider shoveling someone’s sidewalk for them. If you are physical touch, be sure to offer lots of high fives/fist bumps and a big smile to those you interact with today!

While it is easy to talk in your primary/native language, it can be even more of a blessing to speak someone else’s primary language even if it doesn’t match yours! While it might not feel natural, it is more likely to be recognized and appreciated by the receiver if it is in their Love Language.

There are so many ways to fulfill Christ’s command to love one another!

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” – John 13:34-35

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash